John's Kiwanis Activities Page

Homestead/South Dade
Kiwanis Club
21st Annual
Dolphin Days 2005 Winner
Catherine Leonard

50.2 lb. Dolphin

New officers installed at the 2005 Installation
dinner held on Sept. 30th, 2005 at Ocean Reef.

Left to right: John Burkowski, President; Jill Cadman, President-elect; Teresa Acevedo, Vice-president; Gina Lavatai, Secretary; Les Bowen, Treasuer; Charles Gulliuzza, Immediate Past President; Myra Perez, Immediate Past Lt. Governor District 26A

Florida District 26A

Member of the Homestead/South Dade Kiwanis Club since 1978. He sponsored the South Dade High School Key Club from 1975 to 2004 when he retired from teaching. In 1981 was selected as "The Kiwanian of the Year". He has served on the Board of Directors for a number of years and served as president from October, 2005 to April, 2006 when he retired from Kiwanis for health and family reasons.
Florida District
Recipient of the Ralph Davis Fellowship Award in 2004
Kiwanis International
Recipient of the George F. Hixson Fellowship in 2001
The Kiwanis International Foundation Board of Trustees created the George F. Hixson Fellowship in 1983 to honor the first Kiwanis International President. Hixson, who served from 1916 to 1918, holds the distinction of being the only leader to serve two terms as Kiwanis International President. Overall, his record accounts for more than 50 years of dedication to Kiwanis service.
Last updated: June 19, 2006